Breaking News
More () »

County-by-county snowfall totals in Maine

Tuesday's nor'easter dropped more than a foot of snow in some parts of Maine.
Credit: AP
Rick Wallace clears a sidewalk with a snowblower during a winter snow storm, Tuesday, Feb. 2, 2021, in Freeport, Maine. (AP Photo/Robert F. Bukaty)

MAINE, USA — The snow drought in Maine is over.

The Groundhog Day nor’easter began Monday evening and continued to rage on through Tuesday, bringing with it heavy snow and whipping wind.

The two-day storm clobbered the northeast, dropping more than 17 inches of snow in New York City, 30 inches in northern New Jersey, 18-plus inches in Massachusetts, and as much as 16 inches in parts of New Hampshire.

The National Weather Service (NWS) stations in Gary and Caribou collect data from a variety of sources, including trained spotters, NWS employees, and public volunteers throughout the state with varying equipment and exposures. NWS notes not all data listed are considered official.

Here are the Maine snow totals by county (NWS snowfall reports as of 8 a.m. Wednesday).

Androscoggin County:

  • S. Turner—12 in.
  • Livermore Falls—6.5 in.
  • E. Lewiston—7.8 in.
  • W. Lisbon Falls—5 in.
  • Auburn—6.0 in.
  • Durham—4.5 in.
  • Poland—4.4 in.
  • Lisbon—3.8 in.

Cumberland County:

  • Cape Elizabeth, NNW—5.0 in.
  • Cumberland Center—7 in.
  • South Portland—8.0 in.
  • Scarborough, WNW—8.9 in.
  • Scarborough, NNW—7.5 in.
  • Portland, WSW—6.7 in.
  • Portland, NW—7.2 in.
  • Portland, WNW—3.8 in.
  • Portland Jetport—7.8 in.
  • Freeport—5.8 in.
  • Brunswick—5.8 in.
  • Falmouth—6.4 in.
  • Gorham—7.4 in.
  • New Glouchester—5 in.
  • Sebago—5 in.
  • Yarmouth—6.7 in.
  • Westbrook—6.5 in.
  • Gray, NNE—6.3 in. 
  • Gray, NE—6.6 in.
  • Gray NWS Office—5.3 in.

Franklin County:

  • Salem—15.5 in.
  • Farmington—6.8 in.
  • Farmington, NNW—6 in.
  • New Sharon, NW—5.5 in.
  • New Sharon, E—4.5 in.
  • Kingfield—5 in.
  • Rangeley, SSE—10.2 in.
  • Temple—4 in.

Hancock County:

  • Somesville—5 in.
  • Seawall—5.2 in.
  • Southwest Harbor, NNW—5.5 in.
  • Gouldsboro—4.5 in.
  • Prospect Harbor—3.5 in.
  • Brooklin, SE—3.6 in.
  • Deer Isle—3 in.

Kennebec County:

  • Gardiner—7.3 in.
  • Readfield—5 in.
  • Augusta, WSW—4.5 in.
  • Augusta, NE—3.8 in.
  • Sidney—4 in.
  • Hallowell—4.2 in.
  • Hallowell, NNE—3 in.

Knox County:

  • Rockport—6.5 in.
  • Washington—5.5. in.
  • Hope—5.5 in.
  • Thomaston—5 in.
  • Union—5 in.
  • Camden—3.5 in.

Lincoln County:

  • Travett—6 in.
  • Dresden—5.5 in.
  • Waldoboro—5.2 in.
  • Newcastle—5 in.

Oxford County:

  • Otisfield—9 in.
  • Oxford—6.7 in.
  • Hartford—6.5 in.
  • Bethel—4.5 in.
  • Andover—3.9 in.
  • Sumner—8 in.

Penobscot County:

  • Lee—9.5 in.
  • Bangor—8 in.
  • Milford—9 in.
  • Millinocket—7 in.
  • Hermon—7 in.

Piscataquis County:

  • Abbot—10 in.

Sagadahoc County:

  • Topsham—5 in.

Somerset County:

  • Brighton Plantation—4.3 in.
  • Harmony—4 in.
  • Solon—3.5 in.

Waldo County:

  • Belmont—5 in.
  • Knox—6 in.
  • Winterport—3.2 in.
  • Searsmont—5.7 in.

Washington County:

  • Marshfield—10.5 in.
  • East Machias—9 in.
  • Jonesboro—9 in.
  • Cutler—7 in.
  • Eastport—7.8 in.
  • Machiasport— 10 in.
  • Princeton— 6.5 in.
  • Robbinston—5.7 in.

York County:

  • Kittery—13.8 in.
  • Eliot—12 in.
  • Shapleigh—9.3 in.
  • Wells—9 in.
  • Acton—8.9 in.
  • Cape Neddick—8.6 in.
  • Parsonsfield—7.5 in.
  • Hollis Center—7.5 in.
  • Cornish—7.2 in.
  • Kennebunk—6.8 in.
  • Biddeford—6 in.
  • North Berwick—5.5. in.

Keep track of snow totals with the NWS stations in Gray and Caribou

Download the NEWS CENTER Maine mobile app and follow our meteorologists on Twitter for all the latest Maine weather updates.

Before You Leave, Check This Out