The field has been narrowed for Maine's most coveted high school football award.

The Fitzpatrick trophy is given out annually to the top senior football player in the state. This year's three finalists are all running backs: Anthony Bracamonte of Thornton Academy, Tyler Bridge of Wells, and Zack Elowitch of Portland High School.

Bracamonte already won Gatorade player of the year, and is his performance as a running back and receiver helped lead the Golden Trojans to an undefeated season and Class A state championship. 

Bridge broke his school's rushing record and scored 45 touchdowns for the Warriors, including five rushing touchdowns and a touchdown pass in this year's Class D State Championship.

Elowitch broke his school's single-season rushing record this year during the Class A state game.

The winner of the 2018 Fitzpatrick Trophy will be announced at banquet on January 20th in Portland.