Breaking News
More () »

Sen. King honors Maine's 2020 County Teachers of the Year

The Maine senator connected with the 16 educators Friday via video conference to express his congratulations.
Credit: Courtesy Sen. Angus King

WASHINGTON, D.C., USA — Among those who deserve endless thanks for their tireless work during the coronavirus pandemic are teachers. Sen. Angus King (I-Maine) on Friday connected with the 16 Maine educators who were named the 2020 County Teachers of the Year to express his virtual congratulations.

“Maine’s 2020 County Teachers of the Year embody the very best of our state’s educators: patience, perseverance, and persistence,” King said in a statement. “Even in the face of challenges like the coronavirus pandemic, these teachers continue to go above and beyond for the benefit of their students. In this ‘new normal’, Maine teachers are continuing to show up for their communities, and our state is truly grateful for their continued dedication.”

Teachers across the state and across the country have been faced with the incredible challenges of remote learning, but many have gone above and beyond amidst the health crisis.

RELATED: Riverton teacher is Cumberland County’s 2020 Teacher of Year

The 2020 Maine County Teacher of the Year honorees are:

  • Androscoggin – Nicole Sautter, Lisbon School Department
  • Aroostook – Jocelyn Saucier, Fort Kent Community High School
  • Cumberland – Cindy Soule, Riverton Elementary School
  • Franklin – Melissa Holsington, Kingfield Elementary School
  • Hancock – Kathryn Meyer, Mount Desert Island High School
  • Kennebec – Lindsay Mahoney, Messalonskee Middle School
  • Knox – Alison Babb-Brott, St. George School
  • Lincoln – Heather Webster, Medomak Valley High School
  • Oxford – Tonya Prentice, Woodstock Elementary School
  • Penobscot – Kristy Dube, Fourteenth Street School
  • Piscataquis – Jessica Gregory, Piscataquis Community Secondary School
  • Sagadahoc – Bree Candland, Mt. Ararat High School
  • Somerset – Jenny France, Somerset Career and Technical Center
  • Waldo – Sara Pendleton, Captain Albert W. Stevens School
  • Washington – Debra Carver, Jonesport Elementary School
  • York – Robert Westerberg, York High School

RELATED: Speech therapists help keep preschoolers from falling behind amid COVID-19 closures

RELATED: Internet access secured for nearly 22,000 Maine students

RELATED: Maine teacher who went door to door rewarded with surprise gift from Ellen Degeneres


At NEWS CENTER Maine, we’re focusing our news coverage on the facts and not the fear around the illness. To see our full coverage, visit our coronavirus section, here: /coronavirus

NEWS CENTER Maine Coronavirus Coverage

RELATED: 2020 Bangor State Fair canceled due to coronavirus, COVID-19

RELATED: Gov. Mills launches first meeting of 'Economic Recovery Committee'

RELATED: Real-time Maine coronavirus, COVID-19 updates: Friday, May 15

RELATED: Hannaford announces plans to hire 2,000 more employees throughout New England and New York

RELATED: College seniors struggle to find employment post-grad

Before You Leave, Check This Out