(WNBC) — Some Facebook users logged onto the social network Friday afternoon to learn that they were no longer among the ranks of the living.
An unknown error was causing some users' profile pages to display a remembrance message above their profile photos.
"We hope people who love (user's name) will find comfort in the things others share to remember and celebrate (his or her) life," the message said.
Among the affected users was affected was Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg.
It's not clear what is causing the message to display, but several users were quick to make light of the macabre mistake on social media.
That one time Facebook thinks you are dead for like half an hour. pic.twitter.com/FWJsU2lJCO— Katrina (@KoshkeMeow) November 11, 2016
NBC 4 New York has reached out to Facebook for comment on the issue.
Read the original story at NBCNewYork.com